Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements now include Dungog

Residents and businesses affected by recent storms can now apply for assistance under the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements.

A further 15 local government areas across NSW have been included in the scheme to help councils, residents and businesses heavily impacted by the recent storms, flooding and cyclone.

The Minister for Emergency Management, David Littleproud, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said the impacts of the storms and floods are still being realised.

"This was a serious disaster event which caused significant damage to roads, electricity infrastructure, motor vehicles, businesses and residential properties" Mr Littleproud said.

"Importantly, a range of practical assistance measures are now available to support the affected communities with their recovery."

The NSW Minister for Police and Emergency Services, David Elliott said communities experienced significant losses and disruption due to damaging winds, flooding, road closures and power outages to homes and businesses.

"The assistance being announced today will help cover the costs associated with the operational response and repairing damaged essential public assets, such as roads." Mr Elliott said.

Assistance is now available in the following local government areas: Armidale Regional, Bathurst, Bellingen, Dungog, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Kempsey, Kyogle, Liverpool Plains, Lithgow, Nambucca, Parkes, Richmond Valley, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys and Upper Lachlan.

Assistance available under the DRFA may include:

  • help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged
  • support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets
  • concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations
  • freight subsidies for primary producers, and
  • grants to eligible non-profit organisations

If you are uninsured and have low income, for information on personal hardship and distress assistance, please contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444.

To apply for a concessional loan, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit

Further information on disaster assistance is available on the Australian Government's Disaster Assist website at and the NSW emergency information and response website at