Dads and grandparents encouraged to do canteen duty

All smiles: Dungog Public School canteen volunteers, grandparents Nina Williams, Cheryl Berry and Di McKenney and dad Matt U'Brien ready to greet the children.
All smiles: Dungog Public School canteen volunteers, grandparents Nina Williams, Cheryl Berry and Di McKenney and dad Matt U'Brien ready to greet the children.

For primary school students there's nothing better than seeing your parents behind the counter at the canteen - except perhaps seeing your grandparents there.

Dungog Public School is running a new program where grandparents and fathers are encouraged to work in the canteen then help out in the classroom or with Friday sport.

"The P and C are so appreciative of the time that is given to our school by our many volunteers, but we could always do with more hands to share the work load," said Sarah U'Brien.

"We also know how excited and proud the kids get when they see their family members in the canteen helping their school."

The P and C has worked with the teachers to offer an opportunity for dads and grandparents to volunteer in the canteen and then pop into the classroom to assist or observe.

This can be as a one-off, once a month, once a term or a regular weekly shift.

Perhaps you have a special skill such as family history or a craft to teach you can share.

Call Julie McCormick on 041369233 for more information.

Suggested Grandparent Days:

Monday 19 August

Monday 2 September

Monday 16 September

Monday 21 October

Monday 4 November

Monday 18 November

Monday 2 December

Monday 16 December

Suggested Dads in the Canteen Days:

Friday 30 August Friday 29 November

Friday 27 September Friday 13 December