NSW State election Saturday, March 23

Upper Hunter: The seat takes in Quirindi to Gloucester to Clarence Town and Singleton.
Upper Hunter: The seat takes in Quirindi to Gloucester to Clarence Town and Singleton.

Eight candidates have nominated for the seat of Upper Hunter  in the NSW state election to be held on Saturday, March 23.

One of the most marginal seats in the state, Upper Hunter is seen as one to watch when the state goes to the polls to determine the 57th parliament of New South Wales.

Upper Hunter has been a Nationals seat since 1981 with the incumbent Michael Johnsen winning the seat in 2015 with a margin of 2.2 per cent.

His closest rival was Labor's Martin Rush who originally nominated for the seat but pulled out of the race in January this year and was later replaced by Melanie Dagg.

The close of nominations and the candidate draw to determine their place on the ballot paper was held in Singleton last week.

In order of their place on the ballot:

Calum Blair, Sustainable Australia (NSW)

Lee Watts, Shooters, Fishers and Farmers

Michael Johnsen, The National

Claire Robertson, Animals Justice Party

Tony Lonergan, The Greens

Richard Stretton, Christian Democratic Party (Fred Nile Group)

Mark Ellis, Liberal Democrats

Melanie Dagg, Country Labor

Pre poll voting started on Monday, March 11, at the electoral office at Singleton Plaza and will run through until Friday,  March 22 at 6pm.

Hours of pre-poll voting are from Monday to Wednesday and Friday is from 8am to 6pm; Thursday from 8am to 8pm and Saturday from 9am to 5pm.

Applications for postal votes close on Monday, March 18.

Eligible voters can register to vote online or over the telephone in the state election - applications for iVoting close on March 23.

More information from the electoral commission website or phone1300 135 736.